Hi I'm a newbie..cmml...looking for friends

I’m 38 and I’m on my 11th year of cmml. On glivec. Never found anyone with cmml to chat to and it’s still a long and lonely journey so looking to find like minded individuals who I can make friends with xx nay

2 Likes

Hi Nay, I am so glad that you have found our community forum, I find it supportive and I hope you will too. You were diagnosed young and I expect that brings up so many fears and questions and as you say it is difficult to find people with a similar diagnosis or situation. I actually have CLL but I thought I was the only person in the world in my situation. Also 11 years ago there was far last reliable information and support available out there. Research and trials have come on leaps and bounds since then too. If you would like to talk to someone the Bloodwise support line is free from UK landlines and mobile phones on 0808 2080 888 and they are available to take your call Monday to Friday from 10am to 4pm and on Wednesdays from 10am-1pm, but you can get in touch whenever you want and leave a message and they say they will get back to you within one working day. How have you coped emotionally, physically and practically?

1 Like

Hi Nay. I am 77 and in my 3rd year of CMML. On Hydroxycarbamide for the past year. Like you I have not come across anyone else with CMML in the local area and certainly find the uncertainty hard to come to terms with especially with blood tests every 5 or 6 weeks and wondering what they will show. Glad to chat if you want.

3 Likes

Welcome to the forum @NAY82 and @mrew. Amazing that you two have joined the forum at the same time and hopefully you will be able to support each other. There are also many threads on the forum that many people have in common, and you are always welcome to add any questions or share any experiences with us. Best wishes

2 Likes