Moving forward and having MPN

Continuing the discussion from Essential Thrombocythemia:

Hi, my name is Amanda and I have MPN(essential thrombocythemia) I have had this for 25 years and would like to think I lead a relatively normal life. Yeah I have blood tests very regularly and have to be sensible contacting people with infection, coughs and colds. I have been shielding during the pandemic. I am a dental nurse and this has meant I have had to stop all clinical duties and shield. I am awaiting my second vaccine but I am a bit worried about what is surfacing about the antibodies of people with my condition and similar blood cancers. Will this mean I cannot resume my dental nursing And if so what is safe for me to do to earn a living. I have been medicated with interferon successfully for many years now.

2 Likes

Oh @Amanda1, firstly a great big welcome to our forum. You have really shown that no matter what our blood cancer is we probably all share similar, fears, thoughts, feelings, questions and practicalities.
You also touch on the issue that is often not talked about - financial issues and earning a living.
The Blood Cancer UK gives us reliable information and their website talks about just this issue, but perhaps whoever you deal with medically about your MPN is the person to talk about effectiveness of your vaccination(s) with your medical history.
WE are here to support each other and if you would like to talk you can contact the Support Services Team on 0808 2080 888 (10am-7pm Monday-Friday, and 10am-1pm Saturday and Sunday) or via email at support@bloodcancer.org.uk
Please keep posting as I would like to know how you get on.