Newbie here, hubby has myeloma, soon starting Radar Trial

Hello guys,
Thanks for letting me join this helpful forum. I definitely needed a listening ear. My hubby just diagnosed with Myeloma so we still getting used to it all. We found out a couple of weeks ago and he starts his treatment tomorrow.( 01/12/23) He will be doing the radar clinical trial. All the drugs seem daunting with regards to the serious side effects. He will be on velcade injection, cyclophosphamide,lenalidomide & dexamethasone. Along with additional drugs…….
Can anyone give me any tips on how to help him in the early days?
I have started researching the disease, the drugs, the upset to everyday life, and then the stem cell transplant. I’m remaining positive to keep his spirits up. Hopefully some of you will be able to help me a little bit.I know it will be very challenging for him.
Thanks for listening…

1 Like

Hi @Olivia and a big welcome to the forum.
I’m glad you reached out. It sounds like you are doing so much already and getting prepared to support your husband. It can be so hard for the partner and it’s so important that when looking after him you also take care of yourself.
I have posted a link below that gives some good tips and advice on supporting throughout your husband journey. I would also suggest writing any questions down that come in to your head so you can ask the consultant or the specialty nurse. Remember no question iis a silly one - if it comes in to your head, ask it.
The support line is great if you would like to talk things through.
We are all here for you and your husband. He is very lucky to have you X

1 Like

Here is the link x

1 Like

Thank you Nicola, very kind. I will look at the link.
I ask so many questions just hope they don’t get fed up of me! This website is great. Just trying to get him to have some breakfast before we go to first chemo today. I’m sure he’s anxious but he says he’s fine… X

1 Like

Please let us know how today goes x

1 Like