Carrying on work with PV

I have been diagnosed with Myeloproliferative neoplasms (MPN) Polycythaemia vera (PV) and I have been told to live a normal life. I am a painter and decorator which is physical job ladders steps scaffolding etc. will this be possible to continue. Thank you .

4 Likes

Hi @Paul63 I am sorry to hear that you have been diagnosed with Polycythaemia vera (PV), but welcome to our forum.
I am not a medical person, these are just my thoughts.
If you have been told to live a normal life by a medical person, who knows your medical history and occupation, then I would say go for it
Obviously unless you have any symptoms that would make it unsafe or dangerous for you or others.
I would ask you how you were diagnosed?
Are you going to tell your employers?
Do you have insurance policies you might have to tell?
If you feel you need a 2nd opinion you might ask your GP.
Look after yourself and please do keep posting

3 Likes

Hi @Paul63 welcome to the club no one wanted to join. I have the same type of cancer as you and I work freelance as a photographer and delivering furniture long distance.
The trick is to learn to listen to your body and know when you need a break or to drink and feed. The way this rare cancer works means one day you will be fine, the next, it really is a case of mind over body and create crash spaces in your week.
This site is full of great info for this cancer such as all of this; Polycythaemia vera (PV) | Blood Cancer UK
and help with explaining things with work:
Blood cancer: money and work | Blood Cancer UK
I am self employed, so things get a bit strange with the finances and legal stuff, but the above is a great starting point for you.
The forum is full of great advice not only for this rare oddball, but on our shared experiences of blood cancer and our over lapping symptoms and living day to day with a blood cancer.