Mds survival rate

I am just learning about this disease. I never felted so alone. I am the anemic type with 6.4 hemoglobin. I am getting my first EPO shot next week. Anybody can add more information?

2 Likes

Hi @MDWHY and welcome to the forum.
You definitely come to the right place. I have a different blood cancer but the thoughts around diagnosis is something we all share and feeling lonely is something we’ve all experienced.
Im hoping that somebody else will be able to share their experiences with you regarding your questions and don’t forget, the Blood Cancer Support line is there if you need to talk through things.
Have you hit a supportive medical team and others around you?
The testing and constant appointments is really difficult at the beginning so please make sure you kept posting. We are all here for you and I hope that being part of the forum makes you feel that little less alone x

2 Likes

Hello @MDWHY
I’m so sorry you’re having to learn about this disease - but you’ve come to the right place for support. Welcome to the forum.

It’s frightening getting such a diagnosis, and from my own experience (Myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS)/Acute Myeloid Leukaemia) it is indeed lonely as you try to process the awful news.

No one really knows why anyone gets Myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS). And you title your comment , ‘Myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) survival rate.’ I can’t give you figures on that, but Myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) is also known as ‘smouldering leukaemia’ and people often live with it for many years, before feeling there might be an issue. And then, treatment might be minimal for many years once diagnosed, because the consultants may want to see how the illness progresses. And should it have progressed significantly, Myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) is sometimes treated with a stem cell transplant, which is a very effective treatment.