MGUS and increased infections

Hi,
Im new to this so please forgive me if i have posted in the wrong forum.
I only have monoclonal gammopathy of unknown significance (MGUS) now which was still very stable at my last review. So much so, i only need annual checks now.
I have been concerned more recently however because i have had 3 nasty viruses in the last 2 months. This last one is not going. I do suffer with fibromyalgia so I rely on pain relief daily. I have been very good at keeping these to a minimum until more recently because my pain has become steadily worse.
I am not sure if im being paranoid or if im justified asking for an earlier review.
I don’t like to bother my GP but i do want to know why im getting all these illnesses, and reassure myself that the monoclonal gammopathy of unknown significance (MGUS) is not developing.
Thanks in advance
RavenSong

2 Likes

Hi @RavenSong, welcome to the forum! Thanks for posting.
It’s so understandable that you’re wanting an earlier review due to the recent viruses you’ve had. When was your last review?
We’d really encourage you to contact your healthcare team and explain what you’ve been experiencing to them, and ask if they can see you earlier. Our MGUS factsheet may facilitate your conversation around this, as page 6-7 explains that:

You should always check with your doctor if you experience any new symptoms, including:
– constant pain, which may be in the bones, in one area
(back, ribs, hip or pelvis) for no apparent reason
– breathlessness
– extreme tiredness (fatigue)
– recurring infections.

MGUS-monoclonal-gammopathy-of-undetermined-significance-fact-sheet-MGUS-0717.pdf (shopify.com)

Do feel free to give our support line a call if you want to chat any of this through, on 0808 2080 888. Take care, Alice

3 Likes

Hi @RavenSong a great big welcome to our forum and @Alice_BloodCancerUK has given you a great response.