Ryan Anthony, Professional Trumpet Player passes

Ok, it’s a bit niche… but I read the sad news about the passing of Ryan Anthony, trumpet player today. I first came across his story when I was going through my treatment 3 years ago. I’m an amateur player, and wanted to know what other trumpet players, professional and amateur alike went through during their cancer treatments. Did they stop playing or whatever.

Ryan had been diagnosed with multiple myeloma in 2012 at the age of 43. He want on to setup a foundation to fund research into this illness called Cancer Blows.

Over the years, he and many others have held concerts, fundraisers etc even during his treatment.

His story was an inspiration to me which helped me get back into playing after a few months off.

Here is video of Ryan performing, a song everyone should know.

1 Like

@dmquinlan thank you for sharing this. How terribly sad that he’s passed away. It sounds like he did some fantastic work raising money and awareness through this foundation, he’s certainly left an amazing legacy.
Hope you’re doing okay after learning this news.

1 Like

What a loss of a very inspirational person. Thanks for the video.

2 Likes

Thanks! Ryan was hugely respected in the trumpet and music community. A very skilled and talented performer at the highest level.
His last post on facebook page was about a new treatment that “was kicking his butt” … . looking back at his history, he has had quite a tough few years.
:frowning:

2 Likes

Ryan certainly did have a tough few years, but look what he did with those years too.
@dmquinlan was he a friend of yours? I know any blood cancer death really, really hits me, are you OK because we are here for you?

Hi Erica,