Feeling alone

Hi All
Just wanted to share really.
I’m fairly new to it all so forgive me if I ramble on a bit!
Firstly let me say I have a beautiful family BUT I don’t think they quite understand how I am feeling.

It all started with a really worsening bad back last year when I was in severe pain. I was advised by my physio to go and see my GP. The GP noticed some issues with the white cell count and referred me to the haematology clinic. I received a call 2 days later from the Consultant to advise me I had MGUS ( I had no clue what it was ) and that he was placing me under the care of Clatterbridge Cancer hospital. I nearly fell through the floor.
I then had a bone marrow biopsy a couple of days later which showed that I had moved to Smouldering Myeloma! I will now be under a wait and see sort of approach. I have now also had a hysteroscopy as they have spotted a thickening of the lining of the womb. I am awaiting the results from that. In the meantime the continues to be horrifically painful and I remain under the neurological consultant.
I am just tired and feel so in limbo !!
Sorry for the essay but I feel I have likeminded here
Xxx

8 Likes

Hi @LettyLaw and I am so glad that you have found us and had the courage to post.
Firstly I think your first paragraph and last sentence say it all.
I firmly believe that you are amongst like minded people on our forum, no matter what blood cancer we might have.
You are now part of our forum family.
I couldn’t explain to family (who I love dearly), friends and work what I did not understand myself.
I think anyone who has not had a shock diagnosis like us finds it very hard to understand and especially as you say you have been put on a ‘watch and wait’ (active monitoring) regime.
Everyone, including me, felt I would immediately be treated, cured and we would all get on with our lives, happily ever after.
I especially related to your post as I have chronic back pain.
I have been on a ‘watch and wait’ regime for 19 yrs.