Invisible disability or people who think that you're back to 'normal!

I’m a little fed up with people assuming that as you’re in remission/recovered from SCT, your completely back to ‘normal’.
I have to rush to the loo whenever I get the urge & obviously take precautions whenever out.
I have to structure my weeks around the activities I want to acheive by pacing myself. I volunteer in a charity shop one day a week & the day previous & after have to be quieter days.
I’ve got my 16 month old, adorable, grandson this weekend, so I’m not doing much today or Monday. I have already arranged for a friend to come up for the day & we’ll go out for lunch on Monday.
I know by then my glands in my neck will be up & my voice will be gravelly & I will be physically tired.
I try to lead a normal life & have always been a busy person. I was a School Business Manager in a local rural primary, which was full on. One day I was at work, struggling on, & then I was in hospital with AML trial treatment! That does your brain in.
I was told that the environment was unsuitable to return to, so was luckily pensioned off.
I miss the social side of my life, so often meet up with friends, they understand, (you identify who your REAL friends are when on this journey) but it’s the people who meet you & just don’t understand.
Someone has mis-informed the DWP that I’m working - yes I manage 6 hours volunteering weekly for my mental health, but they don’t know the real cost to my physical health!
But you have to push yourself otherwise why did we fight to live!
Rant over.
Hope others understand & empathise.

5 Likes