OxPLoreD

Hi, just wondered if anyone on the forum has joined the trial. Full title Oxford Precancerous Lymphoproliferative Disorders:Analysis and Interception Study.
I have been looking at this and whilst I dont yet meet the entry criteria they seem quite keen for me to join. I was going to ask the opinion of my haematologist first before signing up though.
Helen

3 Likes

Hi @helenfwallace well, what a name for the study.
I will copy your post to the Blood Cancer UK nurse advisors for you @LauranBloodCancerUK @GemmaBloodCancerUK @Heidi_BloodCancerUK in case they can hep you but as you say I think your haematologist is your first opinion as they knows all about your special unique medical history.
How are you feeling at the thought of being part of the study?
Look after yourself
Please do tell us what they say.

1 Like

Hi Erica,
As a teenager I was very keen on the biological sciences and wanted to find the cure for cancer. I studied Biochemistry at University, but learnt that laboratory work wasn’t for me. This offers the opportunity to help find the causes of some blood cancers and why mgus progresses in some individuals but not in others. One important issue for me is that participation in any study doesnt interfer with my current watch and wait monitoring and any future treatment or tests that I might need in the future. The downsides seem to be travel to Oxford or other study location and possible duplication of some tests.

Best wishes

Helen Wallace

1 Like

Hi @helenfwallace thanks for your post, very interesting, although less qualified than you (you can learn on the job era) I worked in all laboratory departments from research through to customer complaints in the cosmetics and fine chemicals industries in the first half of my career (20 yrs).
It sounds as if you have thought through the pros and cons really well and I will be interested in hearing how this evolves.