Parent of adult son with MM

Hello all
I’m new to all of this- please forgive my ignorance.
My beautiful 38 year old- very healthy son discovered some rib pain 7 months ago. He has discovered he has MM!
I am in absolute bewilderment and sadness.
Can anyone advise me how to deal with my emotions and how to best support him and his gorgeous family?
I feel like a rabbit in the headlights
He has opted for the RADAR trials- any info on this gratefully received
Thank you all so much

6 Likes

Oh @Lainers57 a great big welcome to our forum and I cannot imagine how you are feeling.
I was in shock for a long time after my diagnosis and you have your maternal feelings all in the mix as well.I am not surprised that you feel like a rabbit in the headlights.
I will copy your post to Blood Cancer UK nurses @BloodCancerUK_Nurses and perhaps they can help about the Radar trial.
As for help for yourself perhaps your GP can help with local help and that might include talking therapies that really helped me.
Macmillan Cancer might assist too.
The Blood Cancer UK support line is also there for you on 0808 2080 888
As for best supporting your son perhaps it depends on your relationship you have with him and his family and how near you live.
Perhaps just saying you are there for them is enough and offering the sorts of things you could do like having their children, cooking a meal, doing ironing, shopping, taking someone somewhere etc.
As for emotionally I think everyone deals with emotions, fears, thoughts etc differently, it is opening up a conversation and being a listening ear.
What I get cross about is people trying to make it better by negating my feelings, I am the one that needs time to process my feelings in my own way, we are all individuals.
We are here for you and I hope others can share their experiences
Please do keep posting as I look forward to hearing more about and be ever so king to yourself, I think your feelings are very natural, give yourself time.

1 Like