Return to work after shielding - 2021

I’ve been shielding for 15 months now and luckily been working from home, furloughed twice but now back full time from home. My recent blood tests show my lymphocytes and haemoglobin still below the normal levels they should be. I’ve had my first covid jab and my second is due around 17th April. I’m taking medication for a blood clot in my lung, which was only discovered two weeks ago. I’m very scared and anxious on the restrictions easing but i am also distressed about returning back to work in the office. My company have written to me instructing me that from 1st April the lockdown restrictions are changing and i no longer have to shield and must return to work. They are offering me a phased return working 5 mornings a week for 2 weeks and then back full time. I am not comfortable doing this and would prefer to work from home for as long as i can. I’m also not happy returning before my second civid jab. I would prefer a longer phased return so i spend as little time as possible in the office. Am i being unreasonable? Do you have any advice for me?

1 Like

@TM1972

I definitely feel for you. I think it’s really important you speak to your employer’s and I certainly wouldn’t say that you’d prefer to work at home. Instead I would use the phased return as an insight for how safe your workplace is… collate evidence and experiences as early as you can regarding how you are feeling, your conditions and your work productivity and hopefully your employer will suggest it’s better to work from home.

Feeling anxious and nervous about returning is perfectly normal. Just don’t give them a reason to give them the power to reduce things for you at your cost.

Just because things maybe safe for one person doesn’t mean it’s safe for all… and workplaces should be doing their best to make work as safe as possible. They should be abiding by equal opportunities too.

This is just my opinion and hope things go well for you.

2 Likes