Anyone doing a Walk of Light this year?

Well seeing as a photographer, I paint with light and shadow, I am thinking of doing the Walk of Light this year.
So has anyone done one in the past?
Is anyone in the Newcastle area fancy a walk from the Baltic (great venue, shame about the contents) down the Gateshead quayside, under the Tyne Bridge, over the Swing Bridge down river on the Newcastle quayside (pitstop in the Red House optional as is a slice of pizza further along) till getting to the Millennium Bridge, take in the bridges up river, before finishing back at the Baltic?
Update: Signed up :slight_smile:

5 Likes

No, but it is a brilliant, stunning, poignant event and fundraiser.

4 Likes

@Erica what? With your range of eclectic clothing and headgear? Thought you would be the star of the show :wink:

4 Likes

Thank you for inspiring me to do likewise! Feeling kind of impatient for 30 March already :rofl::mountain::hiking_boot:

2 Likes

@Duncan well yours does have the travel bloggers Instagram glamour factor :rofl:
For someone who loves the countryside, I have surprised myself on both the distance and location, but with some many iconic landmarks in a short distance and as they say “A mighty river running through it” it makes sense.
I have been looking at the reasons people are walking it, especially the in memory parts, feel slightly strange when people have asked and I reply, in memory of the person I used to be and my marriage.
If people were more aware, the symptoms more known, the medical world more informed of cancers that play hide and seek over time, then perhaps less people would have to go through a life changing moment with less destruction to their personal lives.
Good luck with getting Bertie to carry his own day pack :wink:

2 Likes

I haven’t, but it sounds like an interesting idea. I should try it.

3 Likes

@Abaziz0786 it is a great way to highlight this issue positively

2 Likes