Can you help us with our information about itching?

Are you experiencing, or have you experienced, itching with blood cancer? Do/did you find it difficult to relieve your symptoms, or explain how bad it really is/was? What would you most want to know about itching? Do you have any tips or advice for others suffering?

We’re creating new online information about itching, and we’d like to speak to you if you’ve experienced this (either as a symptom of your blood cancer, or as a symptom of its treatment). We’re also interested in hearing from anyone supporting a loved one with blood cancer and itching. We’d like to ask you about what it feels like, what you wish people understood about it, and if you’ve found anything that helps to ease the itch. If you’d like to be involved or find out more, please email me at sarah.hastelow@bloodcancer.org.uk

Thank you - I’m a new Health Information Writer at Blood Cancer UK, and it’s lovely to ‘meet’ you all :slight_smile:

7 Likes

Prior to my diagnosis, the itching was awful.I had it for about 6 months prior to diagnosis of my lymphoma, with it gradually increasing in severity. It’s hard to describe how deep in your bones /skin the itch felt, impossible to relieve it with any typical anti-itch medicines such as antihistamines , none worked. I remember lying in hospital at one point crying as the itching across my back and torso was so bad, and a kind nurse brought some ice wrapped in towels to try and cool my skin down (it was a good distraction technique anyway!).

The only thing that finally relieved the itching was to go on high dose steroids and shortly after that I went onto chemo/immunotherapy treatment for my Non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL). Haven’t had any problems with itching since thank goodness!

2 Likes

Hi @CaroleCW