Feeling very low

I was diagnosed with chronic myeloid leukemia in July this year. I’ve had the treatment and will now continue on my TKIs medication and I’m definitely feeling much better then I was.
I’ve been told it’s rare for someone my age (37) to have this type of leukaemia and I’m suffering with a few things that I’d love to talk with someone who’s the same age as me or maybe you’ve had it for a while and can offer some advice. I’m a personal trainer for work and my joins have really been affected. Getting down to the floor seems a mission and my keens are badly affected! I’ve spoke to medical professionals and they all say this is normal for my diagnosis. I’m feeling really down about my cancer at the moment. When I was first diagnosed I was positive that I would beat it with positivity and it wouldn’t change my life but recently I’ve had to notice how much it’s affecting me and my mobility. I have suffered with depression in the past and always used exercise to keep me happy. I know I can continue this and love my job but I think it’s just dawned on me that I will need to change the way I do things now.
If anyone has any advise I’d be so grateful or if you have the same diagnosis I’d really like to hear how you are coping?
Thank you

4 Likes

A very Warm Welcome to the forum Helen.
So glad you have found it.

I am a bit older than yourself I was diagnosed at 47 and was a regular runner so I found it difficult too when my life was turned upside down. But I found other experiences through yoga and this has been beneficial and I have really got the yoga bug from yoga on the beach throughout the summer to a yoga retreat . So I am sure you will find your niche.I am sure someone on the forum will have something to share too.

I also took up knitting :yarn: Tom Daley be scared be very scared ! ( not for the swimming mind)