Recently Referred - What To Expect?

Hi everyone!

I’m new to this forum, and it’s my first post, so firstly - nice to meet you! My name is Eli, and I’m a soon-to-be-22 year old student.

Onto the less jovial matters, I guess. I’ve just been referred to a local oncology unit/department, and safe to say I’m pretty darn anxious.

The referral comes after a GP spotted that my blood tests (which I get done at least once a month) have showed consistently low WBC and Neutrophils for quite some time now. They phoned me up to talk about possible symptoms I’ve had - night sweats, intense fatigue, joint pain and so on - and then made the referral. My first appointment is in early January, and I know enough about blood cancer symptoms to know that mine align rather closely and it’s possibly what my GP was thinking of.

Don’t worry, I’m not going to ask for anyone here to give me a diagnosis! I know the tricky thing with symptoms is that they’re pretty generic, and possibly (and probably) caused by other issues. The referral to oncology is still very frightening, though, and I was wondering if anyone might be able to say what I might expect from a first appointment? Will I have any tests done whilst there? Is it likely that I’ll get a diagnosis, one way or the other, at a first appointment?

I realise that every case, every patient and every journey is different, and nobody can tell me 100% what’s going to happen, but some idea of what tends to happen would greatly help ease my anxiety!

Thank you all for reading, and I hope everybody is having a lovely festive season despite the circumstances.

1 Like