Third Primary Dose Recorded as Booster

Hello everyone! I hope you are all doing well in tricky times. I am new and a carer for my Mum who was diagnosed with myeloma earlier this year. We have found Blood Cancer UK and all their work to raise awareness of the issues faced by those who are extremely clinically vulnerable during the pandemic. This is my first time posting, so hope I am not replicating a thread elsewhere.

My Mum finally got her invitation for her ‘booster’, a few days later she received a letter from the NHS that clearly marked out that what she required was a third dose as opposed to a booster (on the same day I read the stuff that Blood Cancer UK had put out also making the distinction), and to also speak with her consultant. She went for her vaccination appointment at her GPs surgery on Saturday and before anything else happened my stepdad was very clear and showed the nurse the letter. She had never heard anything about a third dose being different from a booster. She asked if she could scan the letter as none of them in the practice had heard anything about this. My Mum was reassured that she was not receiving a ‘half dose’ and got her Pfizer jab. However, it wasn’t until she got home that she noticed that her card that the nurse had marked up said ‘booster’.

I am concerned that if this has been recorded on their system as a booster, as opposed to a third dose, that she will not be invited or be eligible for a booster in the weeks/months to come. I am thinking of getting in contact with my Mum’s GP surgery, as I am sure she will not be the only one this applies to and my Mum was concerned that the nurse didn’t read the letter in detail. I want to ensure that this has been recorded correctly on her files.

Has anyone else faced similar? Any thoughts on getting in touch with the surgery (I am going to email as I don’t want to clog up already very busy phone lines)?

3 Likes